The Archetypes Within

In looking  at the Jungian archetypes, I am most definitely the soul type. In general, the soul type focuses more on the unconscious psyche, which deals with the feminine and masculine side we all have within us. It is important for everyone regardless of gender to find a balance within themselves, and never neglect feelings they might have, even if they are more masculine or feminine then they are comfortable with. For example, I find it is easiest to express my masculine side by skateboarding and playing video games, and feminine by cooking and gardening. I see all four parts of the soul archetype in me, which is why I believe it to be the best to identify with. I am the explorer, in that I love to explore new places, and be independent and sometimes completely isolated. I firmly believe we all need to find ourselves on our own time, and should not let our inner self be molded by family or society. I am the rebel, in that I think rules are meant to be broken, and that when government becomes harmful or unfair, the people need to revolt. I am the lover, in that I believe that there is only one true love that one must find in their life. Further, once that person is found, I believe you must spend a lot of intimate time getting to know that person on all levels, to the point of where they become a part of you, you can no longer live without. I am the creator, in that I love making art, especially sculpture. I believe that the images and ideas in my head can become a reality, even if the building blocks (such as technology) is not at the same level yet.

Regarding the Ego type, I am the hero. I believe that if you truly want to do something, it is never impossible. I am willing to do things others would not (such as joining a circus, or living alone in an isolated area) and have interest in doing them. I am not easily frightened, and love watching horror movies; although I have yet to be afraid. 

Under the self type, I am the magician. I believe that there is a way to make things happen, and that dreams can come true. I believe in developing a vision of how you want your life to be, and that we can all achieve our dream lives, regardless of obstacles in our way. 

Leave a comment